Chapter President of the Year Award

SMPS Chapter President of the Year Award Recipient Announced

SMPS is pleased to announce that Jen McGovern, CPSM, 2020-2021 SMPS DC president, has been recognized as the 2022 Chapter President of the Year. Jen was honored at Amplify A|E|C, the Society’s annual conference, during an awards ceremony on July 19, 2022.

The Chapter President of the Year Award recognizes an SMPS chapter president who has demonstrated excellence in leadership while serving the chapter and its members. The nomination process includes both self and peer nominations and must be submitted by a current SMPS member.

Jen McGovern, CPSM, became SMPS Washington DC president during one of the most challenging years of the chapter’s history. During this time, she had a unique opportunity to assess what worked—and what didn’t—for the chapter.

Jen fostered an environment of evaluation and experimentation, encouraging directors to own their programs and get creative. And by taking this approach, the chapter was able to remain profitable during the pandemic—staying in the black on over 80% of events and increasing reserves.

When asked about the award, Jen stated that she was honored and humbled. “All of the chapter presidents in the 2020–2021 program year faced a unique challenge in determining how to keep members safe while still delivering an impactful member experience. With the support of the SMPS DC board members and volunteers, we produced a calendar of creative events and laid foundations to benefit the chapter in the future. I’m excited to continue to see how the SMPS DC chapter evolves!”

Throughout her term, Jen made sure both board members and chapter members felt seen and heard. She sent a personal welcome email to every new member, letting them know of upcoming events and encouraging them to get involved.

Connection, education, and advancement—that’s what Jen promised SMPS Washington DC, and she delivered, while maintaining her calm and collective manner.

Congratulations, again, to Jen McGovern, CPSM!


About the SMPS Chapter President of the Year Award


The SMPS Chapter President of the Year (CPY) Award recognizes an SMPS chapter president who has demonstrated excellence in leadership while serving the chapter and its members.

To be eligible, the candidate must have served as president for the 2021–2022 program year. All nominations must be made by a current SMPS member. “Self-nominations” are accepted as well.

September 1, 2021–August 31, 2022.

2023 Application and PDF submission must be submitted to Deadline TBD.

No fee to enter.

Executive Summary
In 500 words or less, please summarize why your chapter’s president should be awarded Chapter President of the Year. Please provide examples that demonstrate how the chapter’s success could not have been possible without your nominee’s thoughtful and strategic leadership. This is your opportunity to help the judges get to know the nominee and to better understand their focus and strategy for the year that made a monumental positive impact on your chapter. In a total of 5 pages or less (not including covers, letters of support, executive summary, or addenda), submit a synopsis describing how the nominee initiated or influenced each of the 5 criteria.

Samples of documents supporting any of the 5 items may be included in an addendum. The addendum is limited to 30 pages and should provide supplemental information only, not content.

Contact Molly Dall’Erta, Director of Member Recognition and Programs,