Marketing Communications Awards

The 40th Annual SMPS Marketing Communications Awards Program.


The following firms are finalists in the 2017 Marketing Communications Awards competition; some firms received awards in multiple categories.

Placements will be announced during the Evening of Excellence awards program on July 13, 2017, in Indianapolis during Build Business, the SMPS annual conference. Placements also will be published on the SMPS web site  in July and in the October 2017 Marketer.

All participants will be notified about the status of their entries by May 12th via email.

Bialosky Cleveland, Cleveland, Ohio

Brownstein Group, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Building Controls and Services, BCS, Wichita, Kansas

Burns & McDonnell, Kansas City, Missouri

Charles M. Salter Associates, San Francisco, California

Concord General Contracting, Mesa, Arizona

CSM Group, Kalamazoo, Michigan

DAVIS Construction, Rockville, Maryland

FXFOWLE, New York, New York

GBBN Architects, Cincinnati, Ohio

GLMV Architecture, Wichita, Kansas

Goodwin, Boston, Massachusetts

GreenbergFarrow, New York, New York

Hafer, Evansville, Indiana

Hausmann Construction, Lincoln, Nebraska

Henderson Engineers, Lenexa, Kansas

Hensel Phelps, Greeley, Colorado

HGA Architects and Engineers, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Hickok Cole Architects, Washington, District of Columbia

HLB Lighting Design, New York, New York

HNTB, Kansas City, Missouri

ICON Venue Group, Greenwood Village, Colorado

James G Davis Construction (DAVIS), Rockville, Maryland

JE Dunn Construction, Kansas City, Missouri

Karpinski Engineering, Cleveland, Ohio

Lawrence Group, St. Louis, Missouri

M+A Architects, Columbus, Ohio

MGAC, Washington, District of Columbia

MMC Corp, Overland Park, Kansas

NAC Architecture, Seattle, Washington

Neuger Communications Group, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Notkin Mechanical Engineers, Seattle, Washington

Orcutt | Winslow, Phoenix, Arizona

Ostrom Creative, Excelsior, Minnesota

OZ Architecture, Denver, Colorado

P2S Engineering, Long Beach, California

PAE, Portland, Oregon

PCL Construction Services, Inc., Orlando, Florida

Professional Engineering Consultants, Wichita, Kansas

Reputation Ink, Jacksonville, Florida

Rottet Studio, Houston, Texas

S. M. Wilson & Co., St. Louis, Missouri

Sasaki, Watertown, Massachusetts

Schaefer, Cincinnati, Ohio

SmithGroupJJR, Chicago, Illinois

Stantec, Lynnwood, Washington

Tepa, LLC, Kansas City, Missouri

Terracon Consultants, Inc., Olathe, Kansas

Texas-IBI Group, Inc., Webster, Texas

The PENTA Building Group, Las Vegas, Nevada

Timmons Group, Richmond, Virginia

Truebeck Construction, Redwood City, California

University Mechanical Contractors, Inc., Mukilteo, Washington

VHB, Watertown, Massachusetts

Widseth Smith Nolting, Baxter, Minnesota

Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc., Northbrook, Illinois

Interested in Sponsoring the 2017 MCA Program? 

Contact Christine Chirichella at 571.348.2251 or

2016 Marketing Communications Awards Winners Announced

The Society for Marketing Professional Services (SMPS), the premier A/E/C marketing and business development association, is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2016 National Marketing Communications Awards (MCA). This annual competition is the longest-standing, most prestigious awards program recognizing excellence in marketing and communications by professional services firms in the design and building industry. The SMPS Marketing Communications Awards (MCA) recognize the individuals and teams who create outstanding communication vehicles for architectural, engineering, design, and construction firms.

This is the only awards program that highlights the critical role and immense value marketing professionals bring to the design and building industry. The award winners were announced and honored on August 11th in Philadelphia, PA, as a part of Build Business, the SMPS annual conference, held August 10-12.

The Best of Show Award, bestowed by a jury of national trade magazine editors and publishers, was awarded to Professional Engineering Consultants, from Wichita, KS, for their video “Come Work At PEC!” This entry was selected as Best of Show because it delivered a compelling message with a light, humorous touch. It had superb writing, good camera work, and generated measurable results. The People’s Choice Award, voted on by the attendees of the SMPS conference, was awarded to Henderson Engineers from Lenexa, KS, for its holiday piece, “Work Hard. Play Hard. Give Back.”

New this year, winners are spotlighted in our online gallery sponsored by Flintco. Visit to see the winning entries and to help benchmark your marketing communications efforts.

To view the press release and a complete list of winners, click here.

To view photos of this year’s winners at the Gala, please click here.

About the Marketing Communications Awards

The SMPS Marketing Communications Awards Program is the longest-standing, most prestigious awards competition that recognizes excellence in marketing communications produced by professional services firms in the design and building industry.The program provides an unparalleled opportunity for professionals to showcase their best marketing practices and to educate the industry about the critical role of marketing in a successful firm.

This competition is open to SMPS members and nonmembers employed in US and international professional services firms. Marketing communication projects completed between January 2015 and December 2016 will be accepted for the 2017 competition.

All finalists are honored on stage and with an award during the SMPS Awards Gala on July 13 in Indianapolis, held in conjunction with Build Business, the Society’s annual conference. Winning entries will be on display throughout the conference, July 12-14, for the benefit of the attendees.

In addition, winning firms are promoted to industry media and building industry associations, in SMPS publications including Marketer, on the SMPS Web site and social media channels, and in DesignIntelligence’s Almanac of Architecture & Design.

For More Information

Contact Molly Dall’Erta, SMPS Headquarters at 800.292.7677, ext. 231, or

Related Posts